Experiencing writer’s block or just plain feeling stuck in your life? Maybe the simple act of putting pen to paper will reignite your muse and get things rollin’ again.

In Pens — They’re Good For You, Nancy Olson reveals a whole slew of reasons to get back to this more basic form of communication, enhanced creativity being one of them. According to scientific studies, handwriting taps into a very powerful part of our brain not easily reached by other activities.

Cool, huh?

I wonder what part of the brain typing on a computer activates? Hmmm.

Other benefits of handwriting include sharper thinking, better memory, and healing. It even helps us stay “in the moment.” Apparently the steady rhythm of our hand movements mimic the same neural activity seen in meditation.

Good news for my friends who haven’t the patience or desire to close their eyes and sit still for any period of time.

On the basis of all those benefits, handwriting should be ranked right up there with daily exercise and taking our multi-vitamins. But unfortunately, it’s a dying art. Replaced by our shiny little machines and electronic communication.

I mean, when was the last time you hand wrote a letter to a friend as opposed to an email?

Well, for me, just last week but I’m not the norm. In fact, I’m far from normal, but I’m okay with that. πŸ™‚

I happen to love writing letters and, of course, receiving them. I long for the days of hand-written love letters… so romantic! And for special occasions, I’m usually more excited about the card than the gift itself.

Weird, I know, but there’s just an intimacy about someone’s handwriting and the thoughts expressed through it that makes me happy.

So how about you? Do you prefer handwriting over typing? Which do you think taps into your greater creativity?

Photo courtesy ofΒ www.planetofsuccess.com/blog

