This morning I thought I’d branch out and try something new. So I took a Nia class.

A friend of mine had been encouraging me to go for quite a while and now that I can actually come up for air after launching WANA International, I decided to check it out over at Urban Yoga. And boy am I glad I did.

Within the first few minutes of class I had a smile beaming from ear to ear. My body was elated. And rightfully so. I felt like I’d taken on the shape of my office chair lately since that’s where I’d been stationed for the past several weeks in a row with hardly any break.

Not good for a very physical person such as myself. And again I’m reminded of the importance of balance in our daily lives. At times we’ll need to sacrifice certain parts of our lives, like when we’re starting up a new business, but it’s so important to get back to a well-rounded routine as soon as possible. Our body, mind, and spirit crave that balance. And need it to remain at their optimum levels of performance.

Nia was the perfect segue for me back into the “land of the living” and allowed me to just let loose and dance. It combines martial arts, dancing arts, and healing arts all in one by melding Tai Chi, Tae Kwon Do, Aikido, jazz dance, modern dance, Duncan dance, yoga, Alexander Technique and Teachings of Moshe Feldenkrais. Amazing, right?! All my favorite physical modalities in one.

Toward the end of class we were on the ground, swimming through the air with our limbs, and our instructor said, It’s your journey. Take your time. Go your own way. And the encouraging honesty of her words really struck me.

It IS our journey. It IS our path. WE get to choose how we spend our days.

And instead of rushing through the motions, we need to remember, life is a dance. Each step, each movement, is meant to be enjoyed. And savored. For one day the music will end and we want to look back and know, we were present for the gift we were given.

So what workouts make your body do the happy dance? What helps you find balance in your life?

Photo courtesy ofΒ Lynn Kelley

