I tear up every time I see this video. I think we can all relate to wanting something so bad you could just die. And when it doesn’t happen, the feeling of utter defeat and disappointment. But the point here isn’t the result, it’s in how you deal with the process of achieving. When you’ve tried you’re best and still don’t have what you want, can you let it go? That promotion? The failed relationship? The 15th rejection letter in a row for your book proposal?

It took me a long time to learn how to let go. I attribute that tenacity to my vigorous training in my youth to be a professional ballet dancer. A profession all about control, extreme amounts of effort, pushing through the pain, and never giving up no matter what. Great qualities but the shadow side being that I never knew when to stop. Even to the detriment of my own body.

Photo courtesy of guardian.co.uk

And even until recently, I only knew to stop when my body broke down. For instance, it took getting a stress-fracture in my foot to finally quit waitressing, a vocation I loath. Tendonitis in my arms to realize I wasn’t meant to work on a farm. I’m getting better at listening to the signals before it becomes debilitating and this video is a reminder of that. Letting go. Submitting. Knowing the balance between effort and inactivity and realizing that in some cases, inactivity is an action. Like a friend of mine likes to say, “Persistence can look a lot like stupid.”

So where in your life are you holding on? Is there something right now that you just need to let go of and let the powers that be take over? Can you let it go and have faith that if it’s truly meant to be, it’ll come back to you? This has probably been one of the most valuable lessons I’ve learned along my journey thus far and one that I’m constantly working on. But for now, I’ll let it go.

